Looking for an Aptem alternative?
Journey connects MIS, e-portfolio, ILR and funding, EPA and quality workflows for UK apprenticeship providers, with scope and commercial terms confirmed during evaluation.
Less chasing.
More moving forward.
Ask your records. Build your programme. Open the session. Send the assessment pack. Journey connects the work your team does every day.
Ask across your organisation.
Ask Journey AI about learners, delivery, funding and quality. Open the evidence behind the answer.
Build from the standard.
Turn a Skills England standard into a programme, learning plan and dated delivery plan.
Open the session. It’s all there.
Get joining details, session resources and module materials from the calendar.
Send once. Stay connected.
Send an approved gateway pack to an organisation using Meritura. Track receipt, corrections and the released result.
See what Journey
brings together.
Reviewed
Sources and comparison method
14 features · Journey vs Aptem
| What your team can do | Journey.Connected from the first question | AptemPublished capabilities |
|---|---|---|
| 01Journey AI | ||
Ask across your operationAnswers across the work you manage. | Journey One question. Connected answers. Ask Journey AI about learners, delivery, funding, quality and governance without assembling context from separate screens. | Aptem Learner-focused AVA AVA answers learners about their plans and reviews. Provider-wide operational querying not found in reviewed sources. |
Ask across your operationA provider leader asking about a cohort has a different need from a learner asking about an assignment. Test the same operational question in each platform. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyQuery supported learner, programme, delivery, funding, quality and governance information from the same permission-scoped conversation.
AptemAVA documentation is learner-focused; equivalent provider-wide querying not established.
| ||
Open the source behind an AI answerCheck the facts in one click. | Journey Answers linked to evidence Open the source record from the answer and check the facts before acting. | Aptem Chat history Tutor-visible chat history. Clickable source-record citations not found in reviewed sources. |
Open the source behind an AI answerA useful answer should be inspectable. Ask where the facts came from, when they were recorded and what happens if you cannot open the source. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneySee the evidence and as-of context, then open the relevant record. Check the source before taking an operational decision.
AptemTutor-visible chat audit exists; response-level record citations need confirmation.
| ||
Talk to your learner recordsUse everyday language. | Journey Journey AI · included in Advanced Ask by voice or text about learner progress, reviews and next steps. Journey retrieves the records your role can access. | Aptem AVA · Enterprise AVA uses live learner plans, reviews and actions in the Enterprise package. |
Talk to your learner recordsConversation is useful when it understands the work in front of the person. Check the role it serves and the records it can actually use, rather than counting an AI label. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyAsk in everyday language about the records your role can access. The answer brings the recorded facts, evidence and relevant next-step links.
AptemAVA uses the learner’s live plan, reviews and actions; Enterprise scope.
| ||
Review AI drafts before publicationKeep your team in control. | Journey Your team stays in control Review and refine generated programme and plan drafts before publication. People make assessment decisions. | Aptem Tutor review and sign-off Tutors review and sign off AI marking and review outputs; chat history is visible to tutors. |
Review AI drafts before publicationSpeed must preserve responsibility. Establish who can change a draft, who approves publication and which actions the assistant cannot perform. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyConversational tools read authorised records. Generated plans and other draft outputs have their own review and publication steps; assessment decisions remain human.
AptemTutor review/sign-off for marking and reviews; chat audit visibility.
| ||
| 02Programme & delivery | ||
Build programmes from Skills EnglandStart with the official curriculum. | Journey Standard to programme draft Select the standard, version and pathway. Import published duties and KSBs into an editable programme draft. | Aptem Programme builder and standards Programme configuration, cloning and maintained standards data. The direct Skills England-to-programme draft workflow is not described in the reviewed sources. |
Build programmes from Skills EnglandA current standard is the beginning of curriculum design. Check the exact version, imported duties and KSBs, pathway support and the treatment of incomplete assessment information. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyChoose a Skills England standard and version, including its published pathway where applicable. Review the imported curriculum before publishing your programme.
AptemConfigurable/clonable programmes and maintained standards data; equivalent direct generation not established.
| ||
Generate learning and delivery plansLess building from scratch. | Journey Programme to scheduled delivery Generate editable learning-plan modules and sessions, then create dated delivery using your scheduling inputs. | Aptem Configurable learning plans Programme cloning and configurable learning plans. |
Generate learning and delivery plansA reusable plan and a generated draft can both save work. Compare the same standard, learner starting point, schedule and expected output, including the edits that remain. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyCreate a structured draft from a published programme, with months, modules, sessions and KSB coverage. Supply the schedule inputs to turn the learning plan into dated delivery.
AptemProgramme cloning and learning-plan configuration documented.
| ||
Open session resources from the calendarSpend less time hunting for files. | Journey The session brings it together Open joining details, attached resources and inherited module materials from the calendar session. | Aptem Events and resource centre Events, Teams integration and a resource centre. A single calendar event opening all session materials is not detailed. |
Open session resources from the calendarA learner should be able to find the material for the session they are attending. Test the full route using the learner role and a real scheduled activity. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyThe calendar session brings joining details, attached resources and inherited module materials together. Staff still attach or link the learning material.
AptemIntegrated events/Teams and resource centre documented; exact calendar-to-all-resources path needs comparison.
| ||
| 03Migration & assessment | ||
Send gateway packs and receive resultsKeep the provider and AO connected. | Journey One approved handover to Meritura Send an approved gateway pack to a connected Meritura organisation. Track receipts, corrections and released results. | Aptem Proficient integration Proficient integration registers learners, updates details and returns assessment records on an hourly or daily schedule. |
Send gateway packs and receive resultsThe assessment boundary involves another organisation. Compare what is sent, who approves it, how receipt is confirmed, how corrections work and which result returns. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyThe receiving assessment organisation must use Meritura and be connected to Journey. A named person approves the handover. Native assessment exchange handles pack delivery, queries, corrections and released results.
AptemProficient integration registers/updates learners and returns assessment records; setup/mapping required.
| ||
Bring learners and progress with youPick up from existing progress. | Journey Aptem, ILR and progress imports Import learner records, achieved KSBs, OTJ hours and review counts through guided imports with a preview before approval. | Aptem CSV import and ILR service Bulk CSV learner import with validation. Historic ILR transfer is a separately priced service. |
Bring learners and progress with youMoving profiles is not the same as moving every historic record. Agree included data types, source totals, mapping, files, exclusions and sign-off before comparing migration offers. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyConnect read-only to Aptem for mapped profile imports. ILR imports bring apprenticeship programme aims, employer links and funding source data. A separate CSV learner-state import carries achieved KSBs, OTJ hours, review counts and progress baselines. Historic evidence files and full review narratives need a separate transfer.
AptemBulk CSV import with review; historic ILR transfer offered separately.
| ||
| 04Security & access | ||
Control access by role and organisationThe right records for each person. | Journey Clerk identity. Journey permissions. Clerk sign-in, active organisation membership and role permissions control access to tenant records. | Aptem SSO and multi-factor verification SSO and multi-factor verification are published; package and configuration vary. |
Control access by role and organisationThe security outcome depends on configuration and enforcement. A familiar authentication brand alone does not establish role isolation, MFA coverage or session control. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyClerk verifies identity. Journey checks active organisation membership and tenant, role and record permissions. Multi-factor authentication follows the policy configured for your organisation.
AptemSSO and MFA/MFV documented; package/configuration conditions apply.
| ||
Protect learner records and evidenceProtect records and private files. | Journey London database. Private file storage. Neon PostgreSQL in London. Private Cloudflare R2 files in the EU, with expiring uploads and permission-checked downloads. | Aptem Published security assurance Security assurance and certifications are published through its Trust Centre. |
Protect learner records and evidenceProtecting evidence includes storage, access, retention and recoverability. Request scoped evidence of the service you are buying rather than treating a supplier logo as certification. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyNeon database hosting and application functions are configured in London. Cloudflare R2 uses EU-jurisdiction buckets. Clerk manages sign-in; its separate identity processing is described on the security page. These are distinct services, not an all-UK processing claim.
AptemPublished trust/security information; validate contracted residency, recovery and certificate scope.
| ||
Managed firewall and OWASP rulesFilter threats at the application edge. | Journey Managed WAF. OWASP monitoring. Cloudflare Pro managed WAF rules are active. OWASP Core rules monitor matching requests in logging mode. | Aptem Configuration not stated Security assurance is published. Named WAF and OWASP ruleset configuration not found in reviewed public sources. |
Managed firewall and OWASP rulesDistinguish the protection a plan offers from the rules actually configured. Monitoring, challenge and blocking are different actions. Ask about coverage, exceptions and legitimate traffic. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyThe current operational configuration uses Cloudflare Pro with managed rules and leaked-credential mitigation. OWASP Core rules run in log mode during tuning: they identify matches rather than block them. Configuration evidence was reviewed on 11 September 2026.
AptemAptem links its Trust Centre from the Apprentice page and FAQ. The public index lists certifications, penetration-testing and SDLC documents. Named WAF/OWASP CRS configuration was not located in the public pages reviewed.
| ||
Limit malicious and excessive requestsLimit excessive and malicious requests. | Journey Edge and enquiry safeguards Cloudflare edge controls work alongside application permissions and durable rate limits for public enquiries. | Aptem Configuration not stated Product-specific DDoS and rate-limit configuration not found in reviewed public sources. |
Limit malicious and excessive requestsAvailability also depends on safe rate limits, legitimate integrations and how incidents are investigated. A branded firewall does not establish every application-level limit. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyCloudflare edge controls sit alongside application permissions and durable public-enquiry intake limits. The operating record includes leaked-credential mitigation; broad Super Bot Fight Mode is off to preserve legitimate service calls.
AptemAptem publishes security assurance and a Trust Centre. Product-specific DDoS and request-rate configuration was not located in the public pages reviewed; request the relevant evidence.
| ||
| 05Pricing | ||
Start with a free Core editionStart with a £0 platform foundation. | Journey Core: £0, forever For approved UK providers with up to 50 counted apprentices. Journey AI is available in Advanced. | Aptem Quote-based packages Quote-based Essentials, Pro and Enterprise packages, with service tiers and add-ons. |
Start with a free Core editionCompare the complete scope your team needs: licence, implementation, migration, AI, integrations, support, storage and exit. A headline price alone can omit important work. “Not found in reviewed pages” means the exact feature is not established by those sources. It does not mean the supplier cannot offer it. JourneyCore is free forever for verified UK providers with up to 50 counted apprentices, subject to application review and written terms. Active and on-break apprentices count. Advanced is quoted per provider and includes Journey AI; AI fair-use terms apply.
AptemQuote-based packages, service levels and add-ons; assess required AI/integration package.
| ||
Availability can depend on the edition or integration. OneAdvanced entries cover its named apprenticeship suite, not every standalone PICS or Smart Assessor package. Sources are linked against each feature.
Bring a question.
Leave with a clearer picture.
Follow your team’s work through Journey, from the first operational question to the next learner milestone.
See Journey in action- Ask about your learners.Find who needs attention and open the records behind the answer.
- Build a programme.Choose a standard, review the learning plan and generate dated delivery.
- Open the next session.Find the joining details, materials and work to complete.
- Follow the assessment handover.See the approved pack, receipt, corrections and released result.
Is Journey a good alternative to Aptem?
Journey may be worth evaluating if you want connected MIS, e-portfolio, OTJ, ILR/funding, EPA and quality workflows, with scope and commercial terms confirmed during evaluation. Aptem describes its own configurable apprenticeship platform; compare both products against your documented requirements. This comparison is published by Journey and is not independent. Other-product descriptions are limited to linked vendor positioning reviewed 30 August 2026 and due for review by 29 September 2026; we do not infer that an unmentioned capability is absent. Verify current scope and commercial terms with each supplier. Journey is independent software and is not DfE or Ofsted approved.
Journey vs Aptem Apprentice, at a glance
Journey statements describe Journey. The supplier column points to the linked primary-source snapshot rather than inferring a missing capability.
Journey
Journey public platform scope for UK apprenticeship delivery.
Aptem Apprentice
Aptem's Apprentice apprenticeship-management product.
Published product scope
What each supplier's cited product page says it is for.
Journey
Journey describes a unified operating platform for UK apprenticeship delivery. [J1]
Aptem Apprentice
Source snapshot captured 30 August 2026: Aptem describes Apprentice as a configurable end-to-end apprenticeship platform. [A1]
Enrolment and onboarding
What the cited product page publishes about the start of the learner journey.
Journey
Journey describes enrolment, eligibility and structured onboarding workflows. [J3]
Aptem Apprentice
Source snapshot captured 30 August 2026: Aptem lists learner recruitment, digital enrolment and compliance among its standard features. [A3]
Delivery, evidence and OTJ
Only a cited supplier statement; an uncited cell means this record does not make a claim.
Journey
Journey describes evidence capture against KSBs and off-the-job tracking against the applicable target. [J2]
Aptem Apprentice
Source snapshot captured 30 August 2026: Aptem's product page includes eLearning/ePortfolio in its published product areas. [A2]
Funding and ILR
Published funding or ILR information, without inferring official acceptance or outcomes.
Journey
Journey describes ILR build, data-quality checks and versioned DfE funding-rule controls. [J4]
Aptem Apprentice
Source snapshot captured 30 August 2026: Aptem lists funding management among its standard features. [A4]
Reporting and operational insight
Published reporting or dashboard information; licensing and exact scope must be confirmed.
Journey
Journey describes role-based dashboards for operational actions and learner progress. [J5]
Aptem Apprentice
Source snapshot captured 30 August 2026: Aptem lists data reporting and analytics, including Power BI dashboards and data extraction. [A5]
Commercial pricing, contract and implementation terms are not scored unless a dated primary-source record supports the exact statement.
Journey's entries describe Journey. Other-product entries are short, source-linked summaries of supplier-published information captured on 30 August 2026 and due for review by 29 September 2026. They do not imply that another product lacks a capability, and are not pricing, security or contractual advice. Check current terms directly with each supplier. Journey is independent software and is not DfE or Ofsted approved.
Comparison sources reviewed 30 August 2026
- Aptem Apprentice — Aptem's Apprentice apprenticeship-management product. Reviewed by Journey product team; review by 2026-09-29.
Why providers consider Journey
Connected apprenticeship record
Journey connects apprenticeship delivery from enrolment to achievement on one product record, so MIS, e-portfolio, funding and quality workflows can be reviewed together.
Versioned funding controls
Versioned DfE rule packs, server-side calculations and linked evidence support provider review before official submission. They do not guarantee funding outcomes.
Apply for Core, scale by agreement
Journey Core is £0 for one approved provider workspace with up to 50 counted apprentices; active and on-break records count, and eligibility, fair use and written terms apply. Journey Advanced scope and commercial terms are confirmed in writing before activation.
AI drafts with human review
Journey Advanced AI is governed — metered per tenant and bounded to authorised workflow content. It prepares drafts and K/S suggestions for human review without making regulated decisions or changing the underlying record.
Compare other alternatives
What should you evaluate?
These prompts are not a ranking. Test each product against your own requirements, evidence, integrations and written terms.
Evaluate Journey if…
- You want connected MIS, e-portfolio, funding/ILR, EPA and quality workflows on one product record.
- You want plan scope, implementation responsibilities and commercial terms confirmed in writing.
- You want versioned DfE rule packs, server-side calculations and linked evidence to support provider review.
- You want a controlled pilot before agreeing wider implementation scope.
Evaluate Aptem Apprentice if…
- Aptem's vendor-described configurable, end-to-end apprenticeship platform aligns with your requirements.
- A specific Aptem workflow or integration is essential and has been confirmed directly with Aptem.
- A current Aptem proposal and implementation plan better match your procurement criteria.
Switching from Aptem Apprentice to Journey
Migration scope depends on contractual export rights, source data quality, agreed mappings and a validated cutover plan.
Run a controlled pilot
Evaluate a controlled Journey Core pilot alongside Aptem after scope, access and commercial terms are confirmed.
Validate the data route
Confirm export rights and formats, agree mappings, and validate an approved sample before any live migration.
Map your standards
Import the apprenticeship standards and KSBs you deliver so off-the-job hours and evidence track against the right framework from day one.
Switch at a cohort boundary
Agree a phased cutover around your delivery calendar. Before moving existing learners, validate the supported data scope, source totals, mappings, evidence access and rollback arrangements. A system change is not a reason to change a learner’s funding or break-in-learning status.
Where Journey may not be the right fit
We'd rather be straight with you than oversell. Journey isn't the answer for every provider:
- If an established-vendor track record matters to your procurement, include delivery evidence and references in your evaluation.
- If your delivery depends on a bespoke Aptem integration, confirm the equivalent works for you in a Journey demo first.
- Journey is built specifically for UK apprenticeships — it isn't aimed at non-apprenticeship or international qualifications.
Evidence-linked and accountable by design
Built so your team can trace evidence, decisions and actions
Tenant-scoped access controls
Tenant-scoped access controls are designed to keep each provider's records separate on reads and writes.
Controlled audit history
Significant application state changes are recorded against the person who made them, supporting a traceable history.
Published funding-rule packs
Journey applies supported, versioned DfE funding-rule packs selected from the apprentice's start date, including 2026/27 version 3, to support provider review.
Bounded AI assistance
Use the same operational question in both demonstrations. Ask which records the assistant can read, whether sources can be opened, which edition is required and which actions remain subject to approval.
Evidence-led security controls
Tenant isolation, access controls, audit records and governed operations are designed into the platform.
Your data and employers stay yours
Export options are available under the applicable terms, and employer relationships remain with the provider.
Journey is independent software and is not DfE or Ofsted approved. It does not guarantee funding or inspection outcomes.
Comparison note & disclaimer
This comparison is published by Journey and is not independent. Other-product descriptions are limited to linked vendor positioning reviewed 30 August 2026 and due for review by 29 September 2026; we do not infer that an unmentioned capability is absent. Verify current scope and commercial terms with each supplier. Journey is independent software and is not DfE or Ofsted approved. All product and company names, logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners; their use here is for identification and comparison only and does not imply any affiliation, partnership or endorsement.
Read the methodology, source ledger and correction process.
Questions providers ask
How is Journey different from Aptem?
Journey connects its apprenticeship workflows on one product record, with a structured evaluation and written commercial proposal. Aptem publishes its own configurable apprenticeship-platform positioning; review the linked Aptem source and demonstrate both products against your requirements.
Does Journey cost less than Aptem?
Journey Core is free forever for verified UK providers with up to 50 counted apprentices, subject to application review. Apply for Journey Core access. Journey Advanced, which includes Journey AI, is quoted per provider. Ask Aptem for its current terms, then evaluate both products against the same provision and implementation requirements.
Can Journey do everything we use Aptem for?
Journey implements ILR build and data-quality checks, e-portfolio and off-the-job tracking, EPA and gateway, and quality workflows. External XSD/FIS conformance remains a submission-stage control. Check every required workflow in a scoped evaluation before deciding.
Is this an independent comparison?
No. It is published by Journey and reflects our point of view, based on publicly available information. We do not claim Aptem lacks any capability — please verify current features and pricing with Aptem directly.
Related pages.
See Journey on your own questions.
A guided walkthrough of the connected record and the questions your leadership team actually asks.
See what changes
when it all connects.
Bring your learners’ journey, your team’s questions and your next ambition.